Complaint against deputy investigated

monocourthouse2008Mono District Attorney Tim Kendall has confirmed that a complaint was filed with his office against a Mono Sheriff’s deputy. Kendall said his office has opened an investigation which he hopes to conclude within the next couple of weeks. He said he could not further comment at this time.

Tribal Chairman of the Bridgeport Indian Colony, John Glazier, also confirmed a complaint. When asked if a member of his tribe had filed a complaint against a Mono deputy for assault, Glazier said, “Yes.”

Glazier declined to say much more. He just said there was “an incident.” Glazier alleges that the tribe “has a history with this deputy.” He also said that a complaint was filed with the DA, the Sheriff’s Department and the Board of Supervisors.

Glazier indicated that the tribal member involved is a minor. He also said that the tribe is “making contacts outside of the State with other governmental agencies.”

Asked if his Department would investigate this complaint, Mono Sheriff Ralph Obenberger said, “Yes, we investigate any complaints we receive.”


, , ,

10 Responses to Complaint against deputy investigated

  1. Over the Berger August 7, 2014 at 7:20 am #

    Just another reason this department should be thoroughly investigated. From the top down. I suppose the BOS will just take that wait around and see what happens from this issue stance….. seems to be working so well for them.

    I hope the tribe can get farther with their complaints than other citizens have. From what I have witnessed the DA takes a blind eye to the administration up in Bridgeport. Just ask the citizens of Lee Vining about that. My suggestion is the office of the attorney general, because this DA will no nothing!

    At least we have some hope that in the new year there will be some serious changes and all for the better. Good riddance!

  2. dpblue August 7, 2014 at 8:42 am #

    Ooooh- here we go.

  3. Once again August 8, 2014 at 7:13 am #

    This is the same deputy that there was a grand jury complaint against a few years ago and you guessed it nothing happened to him.

    Maybe the Feds will get something done about his behavior.

  4. sugarmagnolia August 9, 2014 at 9:20 am #

    Well respected, commited pediatrician has lifed ruined by traffic stop.

    all you people who championed the questionable Mono County Sherrif activities last year before burning man….read this article

    this is exactly what I said at the time…these are upstanding citizens who are professional people out to let loose for a few days. this guy ended up with no criminal charges, yet this probably ruined his life.

    I want to hear what Obie and his wife, who said they were getting rapist off the street by these stops, have to say now. All Mono County did (and the bozos who supported them in these actions) was to harrass people who had no intention of doing harm anywhere, let alone Mono County, and give Mono County a bad name.

    • Mark August 9, 2014 at 2:30 pm #

      It will be a sad day when a Mono County LEO is in trouble and in need of assistance and the only thing the public will do is pull out their cell phones and video it.

      It’s already happened elsewhere and it might come to that here

    • Reaped what he sowed August 9, 2014 at 11:27 pm #

      As displayed by his own actions multiple times Obenberger doesn’t have any kind of conscience about anything he does. All he cares about is himself and all his wife cared about was keeping him in his position as Sheriff. Thus her desperate rants. The bad karma he has spewed all these years got him right were he deserves to be. He reaped what he sowed. Jobless in Mono.

  5. mono county local August 9, 2014 at 1:15 pm #

    Ms Magnolia – I personally would be quite upset if my child’s doctor were using illegal drugs, especially one which is frequently used for rape. He “ruined” his own life. But in any case you might want to consider what your rather strident and nearly constant defense of the poor little harassed burners, even in article which has nothing to do with BM, reveals about you.

    • sugarmagnolia August 11, 2014 at 4:53 pm #

      quite simply, I just read the article I posted the link to (likely because BM is coming up again) and this was the most closely related article to post to.
      Personally, I’d be more concerned if my pediatrician was using alcohol or pot everyday as compared to rare, sporadic recreational drug use.
      My main point was, and I’m not always good at getting my point across well, is that Obie and his wife made it out like they were removing hardened criminals from our streets…scourge of the earth. Yet, it turned out to be as I posted at the time, that these are mostly professional people, who lead upstanding lives, who are no threat to us in Mono County or anyone else.
      Yes, he played a role in his life’s problem/ruining…..but it was pretty much senseless all around.

  6. liz from Crowley August 9, 2014 at 1:17 pm #


    Ever thought that nothing happened because the deputy did nothing wrong. Just because someone files a complaint, doesn’t mean it was valid. In our great country, you are innocent until proven guilty. That standard is for everyone.

    • sugarmagnolia August 11, 2014 at 4:56 pm #

      Hey Liz, I have nothing personal against the deputy. Do you think they should do this ‘saturation’ again? Targeting a certain group that are easily identified and then finding a reason to pull them over? Even before last year, I had heard from burners who said they knew purposely drive at the speed limit, make sure every light is working, etc. etc., yet they still get pulled over. I don’t think that’s OK.

      If someone is driving impaired, go get em. But don’t pull people over for what they look like.


Leave a Reply

KSRW · 1280 N. Main St. Suite J · Bishop, CA 93514 · 760-873-5329
Positive Projections Web Design