September 16 – new bike safety law

(bikesafetyCHP press release)

LAW REQUIRES MOTORISTS TO GIVE BICYCLISTS

THREE FEET FOR SAFETY AS NEW SCHOOL YEAR ROLLS IN

SACRAMENTO, Calif. – With children heading back to school, motorists should expect to see

more children riding to and from school on their bicycles. The California Highway Patrol (CHP)

would like to remind the public that on September 16, 2014, a new law affecting motorists and

bicyclists takes effect.

According to the law, a driver must allow three feet of distance when overtaking or passing a

bicyclist. If three feet is not available, a driver must then slow to a safe speed and pass when no

danger is present.

“Motorists are reminded to pay close attention as the school year approaches and exercise

caution when they see bicyclists on the road,” said CHP Commissioner Joe Farrow. “Be sure to

move over or slow down to pass when you see a bicyclist on the road and help keep our

roadways a safer place.”

According to data from the Statewide Integrated Traffic Records System, in 2012, there were

153 bicyclists killed in California, which reflects a 7 percent increase from 2011. Those deaths

accounted for 5 percent of the total collision fatalities in California.

“As important as it is for vehicles to be mindful of our bicyclists, those who ride must exercise

safe practices and ride smart,” added Commissioner Farrow. “With both drivers and bicyclists

doing their part, we can help reduce the number of tragedies involving bicyclists.”

The danger surrounding motor vehicle traffic is just one aspect of a child’s safe passage to and

from school. According to Safekids.org, more children ages 5 to 14 are seen in emergency

rooms for injuries related to bicycling than any other sport. Bicycle helmets, which are required

by law for children under 18 years of age in California, can reduce the risk of severe brain

injuries by 88 percent – yet only 45 percent of children 14 and under usually wear them.

The CHP joins with Safekids.org in offering the following traffic safety tips for bicyclists:

· “Use your head, wear a helmet.” It is the single most effective safety device available to

reduce head injuries and deaths from bicycle crashes.

  

· Tell your children to ride on the right side of the road with traffic, not against it. Stay as

far to the right as possible.

  

· Use appropriate hand signals and obey traffic signals, stopping at all stop signs and

stoplights.

  

· Teach your children to make eye contact with drivers. Bicyclists should make sure

drivers are paying attention and are going to stop before they cross the street.

  

· When riding at dusk, dawn, or in the evening, be bright and use lights – and make sure

your bike has reflectors as well. It is also smart to wear clothes and accessories that have

retro-reflective materials to improve bicyclist visibility to motorists.

  · Actively supervise children until you are comfortable that they are responsible to ride on

their own.

The mission of the California Highway Patrol is to provide the highest level of Safety, Service,

and Security to the people of California.

# # #

 

2 Responses to September 16 – new bike safety law

  1. Tinner September 11, 2014 at 2:41 pm #

    Seems like the Move Over Law could have been expanded to include cyclists, pedestrians and any potential hazard on the side of the road NOT just for Caltrans and CHP.
    I don’t what it costs to put a law through but it seems we could have killed an additional bird or two with the same stone or The Move Over Law.

     
  2. DESCO September 11, 2014 at 2:45 pm #

    This is good reading for adults also.

     

Leave a Reply



KSRW · 1280 N. Main St. Suite J · Bishop, CA 93514 · 760-873-5329
Positive Projections Web Design